Premier League Europa League Spots

The Premier League is the top English football division, and teams that finish in the top four places qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The team that finishes fifth gains entry into the Europa League, as do the winners of both domestic cup competitions – the FA Cup and League Cup.

The English Premier League is one of the most popular soccer leagues in the world. And with that popularity comes a lot of money. In fact, the Premier League is so wealthy that it can afford to give four spots in the Europa League to teams that don’t even finish in the top four!

That’s right, if you finish fifth or sixth in the Premier League, you’ll still get a chance to compete in Europe’s second-tier club competition. So why do teams bother trying to win the Europa League? For starters, it’s a prestigious trophy and it comes with a spot in next year’s Champions League.

Plus, there’s a lot of prize money up for grabs. In short, it pays to be successful in the Europa League! Which teams will be competing for those coveted Europa League spots this season?

We’ll have to wait and see how the table shakes out, but you can bet that Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, and Manchester United will all be gunning for a spot in Europe’s premier club competition.

Premier League Europa League Spots


Does 6Th Place in Premier League Get Europa League?

No, 6th place in the Premier League does not guarantee a spot in the Europa League. The top 5 teams in the Premier League qualify for the Champions League, while the 6th and 7th place teams enter a playoff to determine who will compete in the Europa League.

Does 7Th Qualify for Europa League Premier League?

Since the inception of the Premier League in 1992, the seventh-placed team has qualified for Europe’s second-tier competition, the UEFA Europa League. However, with the introduction of the new Champions League format for the 2019/20 season, that is set to change. Here’s what you need to know about whether seventh will still qualify for the Europa League next season…

What is happening to European football? From next season onwards, UEFA are changing how many teams can qualify from each country for both the Champions League and Europa League. In short, this means that it will be harder for English clubs to get into either competition.

How does this affect qualification for Europe? In order to make room for more Champions League places, one slot in the Europa League will be removed. This means that instead of seven teams qualifying from England (as has been previously been the case), only six will be able to compete in 2020/21.

As a result, seventh place in the Premier League will no longer guarantee European football. So who WILL qualify for Europe from England? The top four teams in England’s Premier League will automatically qualify for next year’s Champions League – as has been tradition since its rebranding in 1992/93.

Meanwhile, fifth and sixth place will go into a playoff system (more on that later) with a chance of playing in either the Champions or Europa Leagues depending on their success.

What Places in the Premier League Qualify for Europa Conference League?

The Europa Conference League is a new European football competition that will begin in the 2021/22 season. It will be played by teams from the UEFA Nations League who do not qualify for the Champions League or Europa League. The top 32 teams in the Nations League will be divided into four groups of eight, with the top two in each group advancing to the knockout stage.

The final will be played at a neutral venue. So which Premier League clubs will qualify for this new competition? To answer that, we need to take a look at how the UEFA Nations League works.

The UEFA Nations League is a biennial international football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the member associations of UEFA. The first edition was held in 2018–19, with 56 nations participating. The tournament consists of several levels, with promotion and relegation between them.

In total, there are four leagues (A–D), and each league is split into groups (1–4). The Premier League clubs that qualified for European competition in 2020/21 ( Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur) are all in either League A or B of the UEFA Nations League. As a result, they can not compete in the Europa Conference League unless they finish bottom of their group or are one of the four best third-placed teams across all four leagues (A-D).

So there you have it – only Premier League clubs that don’t make it into either European competition next season will compete in Europe’s newest tournament -the Europa Conference Leauge!

How Many Teams from Premier League Make Europa League?

In the 2017/2018 season, there were 5 teams from the Premier League that qualified for the Europa League. These teams were Arsenal, Chelsea, Leicester City, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur.

UEFA Europa League Explained

Why Does the Premier League Only Have One Europa League Spot

Since the inception of the Premier League in 1992, English clubs have been dominant in European competitions. In fact, English clubs have won the Europa League (formerly known as the UEFA Cup) a total of five times. However, since the competition was rebranded and renamed in 2009, only one English club has qualified for the Europa League each season.

So why does the Premier League only have one Europa League spot? There are a few reasons for this. Firstly, the Champions League is now seen as the more prestigious competition and therefore attracts more attention (and money) from both clubs and fans alike.

As a result, finishing in fourth place in the Premier League – which secures a spot in the Champions League qualifying rounds – is now seen as more important than ever before. Secondly, with there being four spots available for English clubs in the Champions League each season (compared to just one in the Europa League), it makes financial sense for clubs to focus their efforts on trying to qualify for Europe’s elite club competition. After all, not only do Champions League participants receive a larger share of prize money than those involved in the Europa League, but they also benefit from increased TV revenue and gate receipts.

So there you have it: a brief explanation as to why England’s top-flight teams can only muster up enough strength to send one representative to compete in UEFA’s second-tier continental tournament!


The Premier League and Europa League spots have been decided for next season. The top four teams in the Premier League will qualify for the Champions League, while the fifth and sixth placed teams will qualifying for the Europa League. This means that Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester City and Liverpool will be playing in Europe’s elite competition next season, while Chelsea and Manchester United will have to settle for a place in the Europa League.

Leave a Comment