La Liga Europa Qualification

The La Liga Europa Qualification tournament is a competition that takes place every year to determine which teams will qualify for the following season’s UEFA Europa League. It is contested by the sixteen runners-up of the La Liga clubs and the four best third-placed teams in the Segunda División.

The Europa League, formerly known as the UEFA Cup, is a competition for European clubs that have not qualified for the Champions League. In order to qualify for the Europa League, teams must first participate in their respective domestic leagues and cup competitions. The top four teams in each league automatically qualify for the Champions League, while the fifth- and sixth-placed teams enter the Europa League.

The Europa League qualifications are played over two rounds. In the first round, teams are split into seeded and unseeded groups. The seeded group contains the team that finished fifth in each league, as well as six teams that finished third in their Champions League group stage.

The unseeded group consists of all other teams that have qualified for the Europa League. In the second round, each team plays two matches against opponents from its own group. The winners of each match advance to the next round until there are 32 teams remaining in the competition.

These 32 teams are then split into eight groups of four, with each team playing three matches against opponents from its own group. The winners of each group advance to the knockout stage of the competition.

La Liga Europa Qualification


Who Qualifies for Europa League from La Liga?

In order to qualify for the Europa League from La Liga, a team must first finish in either 5th or 6th place in the Spanish top-flight. If the winner of the Copa del Rey also finishes in one of these two positions, then they will instead qualify for the Champions League. The team that finishes 7th in La Liga will enter into a playoff with the 3rd and 4th place teams from the Segunda Division (Spain’s 2nd tier).

If they are successful in this playoff, they will earn a spot in next season’s Europa League.

Does 7Th in La Liga Get Europa League?

No, as of the 2020-21 season, 7th in La Liga no longer gets Europa League. 8th place now goes into a playoff for the final spot in the Europa League.

How Many Spanish Teams Can Qualify for Champions League?

A total of four Spanish teams can qualify for the UEFA Champions League. This consists of the top three teams in La Liga, plus the winner of the Copa del Rey.

How Many Non Eu Players are Allowed in La Liga?

In La Liga, each team is allowed a maximum of three non-EU players. This quota was introduced in the 2007/08 season in an attempt to improve the quality of Spanish football by reducing the number of foreigners playing in the league. The rule applies to both domestic and foreign signings, so even if a player has been with a club since he was a child, if he is not from an EU country he will still count as one of the three non-EU spots.

There are a few exceptions to this rule. If a non-EU player has lived in Spain for five years or more (regardless of whether or not he played football during that time), then he will be eligible to play without counting towards the quota. Also, if a player’s parents or grandparents were born in Spain, then he too will be exempt from the quota.

These rules apply to all teams in La Liga, including Barcelona and Real Madrid. As of the 2016/17 season, there are around 60 non-EU players currently playing in La Liga.

UEFA Europa League Explained

La Liga Table

The La Liga table is a listing of all the teams in the Spanish first division football league. The teams are ranked according to their performance in the previous season, with the top team being crowned as champions. The table also shows how many points each team has earned so far in the current season.

The bottom three teams are relegated to the second division at the end of each season. The current leaders of La Liga are Barcelona, who are looking to defend their title from last season. They are closely followed by Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid and Sevilla.

These four teams are currently occupying the Champions League spots for next season. Valencia and Villarreal round up the top six spot, meaning that they will compete in Europe’s second-tier competition, the Europa League next year. Espanyol, Celta Vigo, Las Palmas and Malaga occupy the relegation spots at present and will be hoping to improve their form if they want to avoid dropping down a division.

All in all, it looks set to be another exciting season of Spanish football!


La Liga, Spain’s top professional football division, is set to introduce a new rule that will see the bottom three teams relegated to the second tier and replaced by three teams from the Segunda Division. The move has been met with criticism from some quarters, but it is hoped that it will make the league more competitive.

Leave a Comment